Colonisation · Education · Political

On Gypsy Roma Traveller Exclusion & Racism

Wait, Why would nomadism get in the way of the pleasures of childhood? Sedentarist ignorance.

ZANNA@ROSEANNASTAR·10 HOURS AGO

clatter-bones
@notwaving
@RoseAnnaStar the only thing it gets in the way of is schooling

Zanna
@RoseAnnaStar
. @notwaving yep the education system is also horribly sedentarist, & problem compounded by the general hostility to Gypsy/Roma/Travellers

clatter-bones
@notwaving
@RoseAnnaStar indeed, it’s sad. Attitudes towards travellers in schools just make them more (rightly) reluctant to send their children

Zanna
@RoseAnnaStar
. @notwaving I studied this during PGCE. Fellow trainees had anti-GRT attitudes that shocked me & my workshop team. If I were GRT I would think twice about sending my kid to school.

clatter-bones
@notwaving
@RoseAnnaStar I wrote my dissertation on attitudes towards the Roma in France. Human rights and marginalised groups is a big interest area.

Zanna
@RoseAnnaStar
. @notwaving I had a Parisian student who shocked me w anti-Roma racism. Europeans have marginalised GRTs in every way & victim blame it all

notwaving
clatter-bones
@notwaving
@RoseAnnaStar I’ve heard it from friends about Irish Travellers in their areas

RoseAnnaStar
Zanna
@RoseAnnaStar
. @notwaving “anti-social behavior” from the people you have excluded from your society. Right. #colonialism

Here is my essay that includes workshop on GRT exclusion in appendices:
Portfolio B

Leave a Reply

